Class Participation

I’ve always had class participation as 10% of the students’ grade.  The main reason is that I want the class to be as interactive as possible; I don’t think many of them will “get it” by just listening to me and taking notes.  And if they don’t get it, they won’t be able to practice at home; they’ll just bring back incomplete homework.  So I try to engage the students deliberately; when I call on them, I call on the ones who don’t volunteer answers.  If someone is struggling with an answer, I might call on another student to bail them out.

And one of my favorite things to do is to ask for a volunteer to work/answer a problem.  If they get it right, they get to pick the classmate to answer the next one.  And so on around the room.  They like this a lot; I see a lot of paybacks where A called on B yesterday so B calls on A today, but it’s kept friendly.  So I like the class participation part of the grade, but I don’t generally leave it up to the students; I’ll engage them and make them earn that 10%.  With the way the electronic gradebook works, I don’t enter the class participation grade until the end of the quarter, so a borderline grade will often get a small boost at the end, which is nice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Class Participation

  1. I try to incorporate participation in a few grades through the grading period. I LOVE Class Dojo for this because I can keep up with things easier and by the touch of a button. My students love seeing themselves earn points and quickly take care of things if points are taken away as well. There is now an iOS app that makes it even easier.

  2. Pingback: New Blogger Initiation — Week 4 of 4 | Megan Hayes-Golding

Leave a Reply

